High Plains Journal harvests KPC hardware

High Plains Journal Associate Editor Jennifer M. Latzke was elected Kansas Professional Communicators President for the 2012-2014 term at the annual meeting in Lindsborg, Kan., April 28. Latzke also received eight awards from KPC adding to the 21 total awarded to High Plains Journal.

“I’m looking on these next two years with enthusiasm for the organization,” said Latzke, who has been a member for nearly 12 years and has served in various leadership roles. Latzke was also named the 2010 KPC Communicator of Achievement and has been a finalist for the National Federation of Press Women Communicator of Achievement.

“KPC encompasses many aspects of the communications fields—from freelancers to editors, from advertising managers to PR professionals—and our overall goal is to bring professional development opportunities to our members,” Latzke added. “As we look to the future, we’re expanding our outreach through all forms of communication, both traditional and more social outlets. It is an exciting time to be involved in KPC.”

Latzke was awarded first place awards in the following categories, general columns, humorous columns, specialty article science, specialty article agriculture, and feature story. Latzke was also awarded third place in the specialty article agriculture and feature story non-daily newspaper categories, as well as honorable mention in the general columns category.

Latzke was also part of the special projects team that picked up first place awards for Harvest Heroes in the special series category that also featured articles written by Associate Editor Jennifer Carrico and Senior Field Editor Doug Rich, as well as editorial intern Lesa Teer. Harvest Heroes also picked up a first place award for Mom’s Tractor in the feature video category.

All Aboard Wheat Harvest picked up first place awards in the special section category and photography on the web or electronic publishing category. Correspondent Emma Misener was awarded first place in the photographer-writer category, and correspondent Megan Roland earned a second place award in the same category.

The Future of Farming Series by Case IH was awarded first place in the specialty article advertorial category. The advertorial was written by Martha Mintz, Corral Creek Communications. Canola U was awarded second place in the special section/segment category.

Graphic Artist Diana Derstein was awarded first place in the page layout category. Marketing Director Sarah Farlee was awarded first place in the headline writing category, and second place in the specialty article sports category. Farlee was also awarded the Sweepstakes Award, which is given to the entrant with the most points tallied from various awards.

Associate Editor Kylene Scott was awarded second place in the specialty article agriculture category, Editor Holly Martin picked up a second place in the personal opinion column category.

High Plains/Midwest Ag Journal is a weekly agriculture news publication with five geographic editions covering production agriculture across 12 states with paid readership. The Journalis based in Dodge City, Kan., and has brought essential industry news and markets to farm families and agriculture decision makers for more than 60 years throughout America’s heartland.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s