Latzke Picks Up Award, Passes Gavel in Hutchinson

High Plains Journal Associate Editor Jennifer M. Latzke picked up four awards for her biweekly column “Common Ground” during the 2014 Kansas Professional Communicators contest held in conjunction with the organization’s annual spring conference in Hutchinson, Kansas.

Latzke wrapped up a two-year term as the organization’s president, passing the gavel to Carol Hockersmith, Manhattan.

“It’s been an honor serving the organization,” said Latzke, who will now transition into the two-year term of immediate past president.

“Our organization is looking toward the future professional development needs of all segments of communicators, including freelancers. KPC will also host the 2016 National Federation of Press Women Conference in Wichita,” Latke said. “Overall, it’s an exciting time to be a KPC member and opportunities abound for members to stretch their leadership roles and skills in the group.”

Part of extending those skills is the annual spring conference, a day full of education, skill development and interaction with communication professionals throughout the state. In addition to the conference, the annual contest winners are also announced.

This year North Dakota Professional Communicators judged 90 entries, with 37 entries receiving first-place honors and advancing to the National Federation of Press Women communications contest. Winners in the national contest will be awarded at the national conference Sept. 4 to 6, 2014, in Greenville, South Carolina.

Latzke was awarded first place in the humorous column category for “The things we ask guys to do” and “Just whom are you calling old-timer?”

Latzke was also awarded first place in the general column category for “A toilet paper movement” and “Rural by choice,” and a second place award for the entries “When will it be Farmer Week?” and “Feeding the class of 2017.”

“The farmer bowl” earned Latzke another first place award in the editorial/opinion/print-based newspaper category.

Amanda Johnson, Holly Martin, Sarah Farlee, and freelance writer Martha Mintz were awarded a first place award for the special supplement “Story of a Steak.”  Mintz also picked up a first place for the Story of a Steak series.

Johnson and Farlee were awarded first place in the advertising campaign built around one subject category for the All Aboard Wheat Harvest advertising campaign.

The All Aboard Wheat Harvest special supplement earned a second place award for Johnson, Martin, Farlee, and Stuart Estes.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s